top of page

A Tiny House

Back in November I applied to a job at an architectural rendering firm and was turned down because I didn't have anything in my portfolio to show that I was capable of photoreal renders of architecture and nature. That was discouraging to me at the time and so I set out to prove that I could. I choose to model a tiny house because of the scale of the building, while Ford Field would be an amazingly fun and awesome thing to model, I wanted a project that I could model in its entirety in a relatively short time. That, and my fiancee is in love with tiny houses so I wanted to make her one of her own.

Here are some images showing my work as I went along:

I started with a floorplan that I found online and went ahead and modeled the tiny house itself with nothing inside.

Once I had the building I then went through the process of modeling out the objects and furnature inside the house according to how I thought it should look.

The next step was to start creating and applying materials to the geometry of the house.

This is the first test render with mental ray. I was trying to get the light to come through the glass cups on the chandelier.

With some tweaking I was able to make it look much better.

Then I went on to finish converting the materials to mental ray materials and fine tuned the settings to what I wanted.

The first couch was actually two chairs, I combined them to make the most out of the tiny space.

Once I was happy with the inside I moved on to the outside. This is the first test render of the grass I put down.

Here I have made quite a bit of progress on the outside, but I wasn't yet happy with how the background had turned out so I went back to the drawing board.

In this image I put up a white fence and made a forest out of 2d renders from different angles of the foreground trees. After this I whipped up some rose bushes and climbing ivy on the house and became very happy with the final result that you see on the main page of my portfolio.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • LinkedIn App Icon
bottom of page